test

Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 

67 Merchants Row
Rutland, VT, 05701
United States

(802) 417-1528

Rutland Area Farm and Food Link (RAFFL) promotes local food knowledge, production and market opportunities for farmers and community members throughout our region.

What's Growin' On

An online community of farmers in the Rutland region hosted by the Rutland Area Farm and Food Link

Free Webinars on Farm Profit, Crop Rotation and more!

RAFFL

Registration is now open for the following new free eOrganic Webinars in March and April. You can find this list on eXtension.org at http://www.extension.org/article/24988

Planning Your Organic Farm for Profit, by Richard Wiswall, Cate Farm, VT March 23 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM CT, 12PM MT, 11AM PT) Reserve your Webinar Seat Now at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/942110081 <https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/942110081> Planning to grow only what you plan to sell eliminates wasted time and effort, and tracking income and expenses will show you your profit centers. In this workshop, Richard Wiswall will provide a step by step guide to achieve a healthy bottom line, assessing markets and developing a production plan, a roadmap of how to grow what you plan to sell. Richard will also share techniques for discovering your profit centers.

Using NRCS Conservation Practices to Transition to Organic, by David Lamm, NRCS March 30 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM CT, 12PM MT, 11AM PT) Reserve your webinar seat now at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/947420161 <https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/947420161> The Natural Resource Conservation Service has been working individually with farmers to address natural resource problems on their farms for 75 years. The 2008 farm bill has charge NRCS to expand their efforts and work directly with organic farmers to address their resource concerns. This Webinar will discuss this new role for NRCS and explain how organic producer can benefit from many of the conservation practice that the agency has been advocating along with some of the conservation financial assistance programs that are available.

Planning for Flexibility in Effective Crop Rotations by Chuck Mohler, U of Maine April 6 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM CT, 12PM MT, 11AM PT). Reserve your Webinar Seat Now at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/900173144 <https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/900173144> Implementing a good crop rotation on a farm growing a diversity of crops is remarkably difficult. Great variation in acreage among crops, multiple cropping, variation in field conditions and other factors makes a simple repeating sequence of crops impractical. Moreover, unforeseeable changes in weather, market conditions, labor supply and other factors generally derail highly specific long term rotation plans. The Northeast Organic Network (NEON) crop rotation initiative used intensive consultation with experienced growers and extensive literature review to develop a collection of tools to help growers manage crop rotations. These are now available in a book "Crop Rotation on Organic Farms: A Planning Manual", Charles L. Mohler and Sue Ellen Johnson, eds. NRAES: Ithaca, NY. Together, the rotation planning tools provide the means for sound rotation planning while coping with complexity and allowing the flexibility to meet unforeseen challenges. The webinar will highlight key findings from the crop rotation planning initiative, and summarize important considerations for rotation planning.

The Economics of Organic Dairy Farming in New England, by Bob Parsons, U of Vermont April 13 at 12PM Eastern Time (11AM CT, 10AM MT, 9AM PT) Reserve your Webinar Seat Now at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/204564729 Over the past ten years, organic dairy production has been the fastest growing sector of the U.S. organic market. Spurred by increased demand for organic milk, the inventory of certified organic cows increased by 421 percent between 1997 and 2002. The USDA estimates that organic milk increased from two percent of total U.S. fluid milk product sales in 2006 to three percent in 2008. Little financial research, however, has been conducted on organic dairy agriculture. What does the financial performance of organic dairy farming in New England look like, particularly in an economy where organic feed prices and fuel prices are high and where today's economic crisis is putting tremendous financial strain on all dairy farms, including organic dairies? University of Vermont agricultural economist Bob Parsons will address the economics of organic dairy farming in New England, based on 5 years of farm financial data.